Corre's Blog

Personal Professional Portfolio

What Inspires You to be a Reader?

cc licensed flickr photo shared by deardarling

First of all, I would like to thank Melanie Holtsman for posting her fall blogging topics and sparking the fire in me to get started on my personal blog.  Though I am too late to take part in the challenge, I hope to use these topic ideas as a springboard to start my own personal blog as well as a start my students on their own personal blogging challenge … wish me luck.

The first question posed to readers was :

  • “What is your life as a reader like?
  • Do you read for work, pleasure, instructions or emails?
  • Who/What is your favorite author and/or genre?
  • What is your favorite reading spot?
  • What did you like to read when you were the age of your students?”

I can honestly say that I was not a child that had an innate love for reading. I was always way more interested in the social aspect of life and saw reading as a means to an end rather than a passion. Thus, today as an educator, I can sympathize with my students who have multiple commitments and have trouble getting their home reading fitted into their day.  I have come to realize that sometimes I need to get creative to spark this passion in some students, as a love for reading can look as different as each of the students that are in my class.

Today those precious relationships in my life with friends and family continue to take priority, but I have learned to love this once daunting task. In fact, reading now takes up a large portion of my day.  As a teacher, I spend time reading my students’ work, the notes from parents, and the e-mails from my colleagues.   Children’s literature also takes up a portion of my reading time as I strive to find reading material that interests all of my students and enhances the curriculum.

Reading also plays a role in my personal life, be it reading before I go to bed each night, or reading the e-mails or personal notes. I can not imagine what my life would be like without this skill.  As a learner, I regularly take University classes that require me to read textbooks and I also have started to incorporate reading other blogs as part of my professional development.

I was inspired by the post that challenged students to list 100 things about me as a reader. Though I too was not able to make it to 100, I found it really helped me highlight all the aspects of my life where reading is an essential skill and really think about the role that reading plays in my life.

I have now opened this challenge up to my students and have asked them to reflect on the same questions listed above as the first entry in their e-portlfolio.  As the Blogfolios’s in our school are meant to show growth, over time I will also be asking each student to record their reading of a 100 word passage to add to their post.  My students will use their prompts to guide their reflective writing.   Each student will then be asked to assemble their own list of 100 things about each of them as readers which we will continue to visit periodically throughout the year.

Though the task seems large right now, I have high hopes for the reflections that the students will complete.  I believe we could all benefit from reflecting on these questions and ask all the blog readers out there… What inspires you to be a reader?

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “What Inspires You to be a Reader?

  1. For me Corre, I love learning. I have never been a big novel reader and have always loved non-fiction, especially about history. Learning about what happened in our past helps me to connect to the present and future. It is also a way that I feel I better myself in helping others in my role. Books like “The Speed of Trust” and “Tribes” are great reads for educational administrators, whether you agree with the content or not. Learning and shaping ideas is essential to our growth.

    Glad to see you are in the blogosphere 😛

    • Thank you George, my students really loved when I shared parts of my blog and parts of the the responses that Mr. Couros and the other teachers posted! It has truly been a great experience watching my students start creating their “100 things about me as a reader” lists and doing their reading recording on Vocaro! They are already talking about areas of their reading that they would like to improve on and they want to come back to their 100 things about me as a reader later in the year as their skills improve! I hope that this proves to be a great beginning to their blogfolios. Thank you for being a reading role model to my students and supporting us all on this adventure!

  2. I didn’t enjoy reading until I became a teacher and we had to model SSR – Sustained Silent Reading with our students. I went to my librarian and said, “I’m not well read! Please share some classics with me.” … So only as an adult did I start to appreciate reading for pleasure. That said, these days I read almost exclusively for information and to learn… and then when I go on holidays I’ll pick a book for pleasure. Still, I’m very thankful to my Librarian, Mrs Joanne Jarvis, for helping me see that a good book is a wonderful thing.

    • I too have been blessed with a great librarian that always has a great book to recommend to both staff and students alike! I remember reading Harry Potter the Half Blood Prince during DEAR time in my second year of teaching. It was amazing to see so many of my boys who once seem disinterested suddenly engaged in the series. I think there is truly power in modeling a love for reading to the students we teach.

  3. I have to agree with George. My main purpose to read is for information. I was not much of a reader in school. I am more of a visual learner. If I can find information through video, ie. YouTube, I will go that route. I do enjoy reading blogs because of the personal touch each blogger gives. I read blogs to enrich my learning experiences and to gain real time insight to today’s educational topics. Twitter allows me to locate relevant topics to read about. Thanks @scours for the tweet. Blog on Corre! Thanks for the post.

  4. I love reading of many types. I first began a love of reading by sharing books with my mother. I can remember reading chapter books with her where she would read a chapter and then I would read a chapter (we worked up to it). I have many found memories of good books from that time like Bunnicula, Secret World of Og, James and the Giant Peach, and so on.

    I am a life-long learner and do a fair bit of non fiction reading as well as readings I get from work (as a school board speech-language pathologist), on Twitter, in blogs, and incidentally in various places. I also read a lot of novels. I like a variety of authors and have found myself recently going to Chapters or a used book store and asking for some (random) good book recommendations. I’m in a book club which meets about every 6 weeks and this also helps me to branch out in my author and genre choices.

    Typically, I’ve found it best to interchange my reading material. A light and fluffy book, and then a more in-depth, non-fiction, or emotionally difficult book and then back to light and fluffy. Lather, rinse, repeat. I find that way I don’t get bored of any one thing or bogged down by any one topic.

  5. Sorry, two spelling errors due to auto correct on my iPad. Thanks goes to @gcouros for the tweet. And my blog site is corrected on this post. Darn spell check. 🙂

Leave a Reply

